Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old June 4th, 2008, 02:41 PM

seperation anxiety and crate training- Need Help!

I have a 2 yr. old male pomeranian who has separation anxiety. I will be taking vacation time to work with him on this, but until then, we are supposed to crate train him. I realize that i can't close the door, an probably wont be able to for a while (b/c of his anxiety)....so how do i get him to stay in there? he comes out right after he is given a treat inside the crate.
Am i just being too impatient? How long does is usually take a dog to be crate trained? (considering his age and anxiety)

Last edited by wolfy; June 4th, 2008 at 03:13 PM.
Old June 4th, 2008, 07:39 PM

I believe you won't be able to keep him in there if you don't close the door. I started training my puppy and what I did was put him in there and closed the door when he whined I didn't take him out only when he stopped now we have had King now for a week and two days now and the door is left open all day and he goes in there all by himself to take his naps or just to get away. I don't know how to handle a dog that is 2 years old and hasen't been trained since it was younger it will take alot of time and patience but I know in order to keep him in the crate you have to close the door. What about a dog pen bigger then the crate.
Old June 4th, 2008, 08:27 PM
Senior Contributor

What happens if you give him a chew toy in there? Like a Kong filled with something mega-tasty that he only gets when he's in the crate.

“We must not refuse to see with our eyes what they must endure with their bodies.” ~ Gretchen Wyler
Old June 5th, 2008, 08:35 AM