Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog food forum

Old December 22nd, 2009, 02:49 PM

Dog diet: Dry vs Dry & Wet Mix

Hi guys,

I know these questions are redundant but I am very new to owning an animal so I need some help regarding food... Edit: The dog is a 2 yr old bichon/shih tzu mix (or a Schichon or Zuchon designer dog as some like to call them, ha ha) around 7-10 lbs (haven't weighed her yet) that we agreed to let her come live with us, as her old owner was unable to take care of her for the time. I'm falling in love and want the best for her!!!

1) I am not going to try the raw diet as of now, but was wondering which is better: dry or dry & canned??

2) Best dry food?

3) Best canned food?

4) Better diet: Grain free or a combination?

5) Best human foods to supplement the diet and as treats?

Thanks for all replies!!!

Last edited by TiannaG; December 22nd, 2009 at 03:28 PM. Reason: To add dog information
Old December 22nd, 2009, 03:11 PM
Now I'm Mrs. Chaser!

Next best thing to raw is canned. But if you have a large dog that would be really expensive, so go with a mix of the two!!! The moisture in canned food is beneficial, as is the higher meat content.

If anyone ever tells you canned food is bad for the teeth, it is a myth. My two just eat kibble and their teeth get caked with tartar if I don't brush them.

Best to go grain-free for both...dogs were not designed to eat corn!

Best kibbles: Orijen, Acana Provincial, Horizon Legacy, Innova EVO, Nature's Variety Instinct & "Now!"

For wet I like Nature's Variety Instinct and Wellness Core.

Adding a spoonful of plain yogurt and plain canned pumpkin or squash baby food keeps digestion running smoothly and aids in the transition to grain-free. There will be gas at first, trust me!

Some great snacks: baby carrots, broccoli, fresh or frozen green beans, apple slices, frozen melon balls, and bits of raw or cooked meat.

Hope that helps!