Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > General Forum for cats and dogs

Closed Thread

Old July 9th, 2005, 11:36 AM
banned user

Exclamation Really Need Some Help

I have been wanting to ask this for a while now, and with the new thread going on regarding chasing "newbies" away, I thought this would be a good opportunity.

I have been working on an assignment for 8 months and I am almost there!!

I am collecting data of pups that are purchased from "various" petstores in Ontario. This is for Ontario only in this project. Quebec will be next (maybe).

When a "newbie" comes to this site and states they bought a pup from a petstore, can some of you jump in really quickly and ask the poster some specific questions? It will need to be done in a pm so the petstore etc. is not named in the open forum. What you can ask them is:

1) What petstore did you purchase from?
2) What breed?
3) *IF* it is registered with what Registry? Registration Number?
4) Breeders/Brokers Name
5) Purchase Price
6) DATE OF BIRTH (very very important)

I know this is a tall order but it would help me so much, and I would be forever in debit to you

I know 99.9% of you on this site are very against petstore bought dogs and BYB's, and this is a way for you to help in a BIG WAY.

I need only 49 more to complete this assignment. I have been able to gather this information from 6 newbie posters on this site. The others were scared away before I seen their post, and have not responded to my pm, because they have not returned to the site. Their pm's have been unread.

If you get this information, you can privately email it to me at kismutt@rogers.com

examples of Registry's:

UKCI - Universal Kennel Club International
WWKC - World Wide Kennel Club
NAPDR - North American Purebred Dog Registry
DRA - Dog Registry of America
APR - American Purebred Registry
WKC - World Kennel Club
FIC - Federation of Internation Canines