Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Breed characteristics and traits

Old May 22nd, 2007, 05:03 AM

Unhappy Miniature Schnauzer on their way out?

I've been a lover of Miniature Schnauzers since I can remember. They are so loving and loyal and smart and playful.. I just love everything about them.

I've had one for about 4 years now and she's absolutely great. She's very very maternal and because of this I would like to breed her at least once.. Probably only once actually.

I have no experience breeding Miniature Schnauzers and I don't want it as a full time job, however, I don't want to lose money all for the sake of letting my dog mother her own crew. I know this will be expensive...

She is constantly trying to nurse kitties and help out with young animals of any kind. She has a huge maternal instinct and I want her to be able to have her own litter. I just don't want to lose money in doing this.

I've heard that Miniature Schnauzers are falling out of the "Puppy Market" fast and was wondering if anyone else knew this to be true?

Any advice here would be welcomed and appreciated greatly!

Thank you,
Kas
Old May 22nd, 2007, 07:17 AM
Performance Spaniels

Good breeders breed to better their breed. They don't give a damn if their breed is popular or not. They are breeding for themselves, not a market. And are more than willing to keep the entire litter forever if they have to.

To be a good breeder you'd need to title your dog, do all the required health testing schnauzers require, find a stud with all the same who compliments your dog.

All of which is an awful lot of work for one litter. And to not do it all would make you a a backyard breeder in most people's eyes. There's some stickies up above in this section you should read. Even the ones on finding a responsible breeder, as that is what many people are searching for nowadays.
Old May 23rd, 2007, 01:36 AM