Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Introduce yourself here - Say hello

Old June 21st, 2007, 01:15 PM

Unhappy No vet in Liberia and my Kitten has worms

My kitten I got here in Liberia has worms and there arent any vets here. I was hoping someone here could tell me an alternative way for me to treat her. she is about 10 weeks old, very playfull and quite happy all the time. I am from north carolina and I am a contractor helping Liberia rebuild following the civil war that has been going on here. I would really like to get my kitten back into the good meed she usually is in. Please help.

Sincerely Jason

P.S. I have medical staff here if it requires administering some other medications.
Old June 21st, 2007, 01:41 PM

No vets at all? :sad:

You have to be really really careful with any non-prescription dewormers. I work at an animal shelter and for years we have been deworming kittens with Strongid-T (Pyrantal Palmoate) which is a horse/large animal dewormer. Perhaps that is available where you are? The dosage is 0.1 mL per pound of body weight. This is off-label use though it is not "approved" for use in cats.

Or maybe you could contact a vet from another country and get them to write a prescription for a dewormer like Drontal or Ivermectin and order it online. That would be safest. good luck!

http://www.myvetonline.com/website/l...03&userId=3541
Old June 21st, 2007, 02:08 PM
Senior Contributor

You could ask one of the North American physicians there to write a script for you and administer it to the kitten. Are you certain it is worms? Many kittens are dewormed during their 1st vet visit or else given prophylactic meds. How will you have her spayed or neutered?