Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Helping cats and dogs - Adoption - Rescue - Fostering - Lost & found > Foster talk - Rescue talk - NO listings please

Old October 6th, 2010, 09:48 PM

Unhappy Found a cat! How do I rescue?

Hey everyone!

I found a cat in the parking lot I park my car everyday, downtown Toronto, on Bellevue (sp?) Ave, the 2nd street behind Toronto Western Hospital.

He is very friendly so I assume he has been around ppl before, he came over right away when I called. He even let me rub his belly! The sad part is he is blind in one eye (it's clouded over), and his paws are really dirty and his fur is really coarse .

By how dirty his paws are he appears to be homeless. Winter is coming and I hope I can try to find him a home or space at TCR or something!

I've never done this before so I'll need step by step instructions if you guys think I should find him a home. If this sounds like a case of an outdoor cat, I dunno what to do. Advice?
Old October 6th, 2010, 10:02 PM
Doggie Wench

I'm sure some TO folk will be around shortly to help guide you. I just wanted to say, thank you for trying to keep this guy safe .
Old October 6th, 2010, 10:32 PM

If we had the room and money I would take him in, but it's just not possible at the moment. I'm doing my placement at TWH right now, maybe if it was 6-7 weeks later and hired I would have taken him asap but it's not.

I'd like to bring a carrier with me on Friday and bring him to a place that has space but I don't know how quick the turn over times are with rescuing. I read the Stray Rescue Application but it seems like that may not help unless I foster the cat until someone wants to adopt him but it's just not doable .