Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog food forum > Cat food forum

Old April 25th, 2008, 10:31 AM
Senior Contributor

EVO canned isn't working out

I had gotten some pre-packaged raw for the gang, which I've been just giving them bits of to get them accustomed to it. They turn up their noses and ignore it completely.

Mainly, I've been blending their Fancy Feast with EVO canned to try to get them used to a better quality food.

I've been having issues with Kiska. She's been vomiting here and there for a couple of weeks, which I'm monitoring. Now last night Vlad had diarrhea, which he's never had. Poor baby, was farting up a storm first, then he used the litter and it was just watery. Oksana has also had a change in her stool, it's kind of soft.

This morning I just left them the EVO kibble which I've been giving them very little of for a couple of months and they haven't had any issues with, until I started to add the EVO canned to their diet.

On my way home I'll go to the grocery store and get them some natural baby food, which I'm pretty sure my market has. I think I just read on another thread butternut squash and pumpkin are good. So I'll give them some of that this evening and tomorrow, just to see if it helps them. In the meantime I'll give them back their Fancy Feast.

I feel like I'm yo-yoing their diet and that can't be good for them. I really want them to eat better quality food, but it never seems to work out. I add the new food little by little, but it's like they knowand turn away even from that.

I'm thinking the best I can do for now is give them what they are used to and let them get back on track. Then in a few months try again. I've been buying them only the Fancy Feast that is wheat gluten free, and in reading the ingredients at least I feel good knowing that the 1st, 2nd and 3rd ingredient is 99% of the time meat.

Am I a bad kitty mom?:sad: