Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time!

Old April 11th, 2007, 12:31 PM

Abdominal pain please help

I posted a reply in another thread thinking I was starting a new one, so I am going to try again. I am a newbie so sorry about that..

My Dog is having some pain in his abdomin. I noticed this on Saturday and I took him to the Vet that afternoon. He was stretching his legs and could not get comfortable and he would whine. The vet said give him pepcid ac and a bland diet. At about 2:30 in the morning he could not move with out whimpering and could not go up or down the steps. I took him back to the Emergency vet. They did an xray and said they could not see anything in his stomach or a cracked rib or anything else. They did note that he was having definite pain in his abdomin but they were not sure why. they gave him some pain meds and told me to watch him for a few days. Today is wednesday and he does not seem to be in as much pain but he does seem to be in some. He is not jumping around like usual, and sometime is reluctant to go up the steps and other times he runs right up them. My husband picked him up yesterday afternoon and he did not yelp, I came home and fed him then picked him up about 30 to 45 min later and he yelped so I don't know if it gets worse after he eats or not. He does not have any other signs but this, No vomiting, Stool seems ok. It was a little yellow today but I think that could be from the chicken and rice or the pain meds. I just don't know weather to so worried over this when it might be nothing. Any advice would be great.
Old April 11th, 2007, 12:59 PM
Queen