Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > On topic - Pet chat, opinions, feelings and rants

Old July 31st, 2009, 08:57 AM

Starting a doggie daycare

Hey everyone,

My name is Lindsay and I am new to this message forum but hope to spend a lot of time reading all of the good advice and seeing pictures of everyone's pets.

I am also on here to see if there is anyone that lives in the west hamilton area and is interested in starting to take their dog to doggie daycare.

I am tired of my job and have been trying to think of home business ideas to get into, and what kind of job would interest me.

I have searched for posts filled with comments about doggie daycares in general and it seems that there are a number of you that use doggie daycare services.

I have not thought about dates yet as to when/where I would open my business, and my husband and I (if we use our home) have to work on converting some of our household space into useable space for the daycare. Both my husband and I have been doing extensive research though on the logistics of starting your own, and I am currently enrolled in a dog trainer instructor course as a tool for the business.

I am wondering what you like and dislike about the doggie daycare that you take your dogs to, and am wondering what sorts of areas people are wishing for a doggie daycare to surface?

I have Charlie in a daycare that we have to drive 20-25 minutes to. How far are you willing to commute to drop your dog off?

Thanks for all of the information everyone, and I will see you around the boards.

Cheers,
Lindsay
Old July 31st, 2009, 10:06 AM
Now I'm Mrs. Chaser!

Ahhh....my ultimate dream! Quit my job and run a doggie daycare.....unfortunately not financially feasible for me at this point in my life.