Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Off topic forum

Old May 2nd, 2007, 01:09 PM
<-----nut ball

Food for a crowd?

I have the option to bring a dish/meal/item for a "feast" and a Pagan Festival I'm attending on May long weekend (2 weeks away). My friend is arranging the fesitval at a friends farm. It's going to be a communal fun weekend with rituals, workshops, and all kinds of fun stuff.

I want to create something for the dinner, but I don't know what. I can cook basically everything, but it has to travel well and can't really be refridgerated.

I am an expert artisan bread maker, but to make enough bread for everyone and not have it go stale (I don't use preservatives) would be too hard. I could make desserts or something, but that can be expensive (running a little low on cash). I want to do something that shows my talents and that tastes good and is easy to transport.

Any thoughts? There is no electricity, only gas stoves/fires and coolers to keep things cold (car camping basically).

I would love to get a whole pig to roast (I know a great butcher) but I'm not sure how that would work. I could pack it in a cooler on the way there, and roast it over a fire, but I haven't done that in a few years...could be hard if it's cold out.

I need suggestions!!!
Old May 2nd, 2007, 01:27 PM
Boss-lady!

Rice Pilaf? It reheats well with a little water or broth added and would be easy to transport.

It can also be quickly turned into a jambalaya with some canned tomatoes, onions, celery and whatever meat is available. Or smoked sausages transport OK, too, as the basis for jambalaya.

Sounds like a great weekend-I have fond (if fuzzy ) memories of WicCan Fest.

"You can't have a good day in bad underwear"- Fruit of the Loom ad
Old May 2nd, 2007, 02:35 PM
<-----nut ball