Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Helping cats and dogs - Adoption - Rescue - Fostering - Lost & found > Foster talk - Rescue talk - NO listings please

Old October 23rd, 2011, 12:37 PM

Unhappy Pregnant feral cat

Hi everybody!!

I am about to catch this feral pregnant cat!!
I need a vet in Montreal or Laval that can give her hers shots and everything for cheap.... because i don't have a lot of money. I also don't have a car and i live in Laval.

I have 3 cats in my home already and i don't want them to be sick because of the feral cat.

It is my first time catching a feral cat, any help, advice and tips are welcome

Thank you so much!!

Léa
Old October 23rd, 2011, 02:38 PM
Skylar's Farm

It may be a good idea to contact a cat rescue in your area and ask them what is the best way to proceed. Good Luck.
Old October 23rd, 2011, 03:12 PM
Senior Contributor

I agree with Bina. Contacting a rescue group specializing in feral cats (TNR) is the best way to go. They can lend you the trap and will possibly have an experienced foster home available where she can have her babies. She should not be getting any vaccinations if she's pregnant.

I don't recommend trying this yourself as feral cats are a whole other ball of wax to deal with. They are basically a wild animal. At the very least, you will need a completely cat proof and escape proof room (separated from your other cats) where she can't injure herself trying to get out (and trust me, if she is truly feral she will try with every ounce of her being).

Regardless of what you decide to do, I thank you for looking out for her.

“We must not refuse to see with our eyes what they must endure with their bodies.” ~ Gretchen Wyler
Old October 23rd, 2011, 05:31 PM

Thank you for replying

i am going to do this by myself because the only rescue group i could have thought of bringing her in is full...