Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Introduce yourself here - Say hello

Old August 17th, 2016, 12:24 PM

Hi persian fans

Hi
I have a persian cat which has a real issue being combed, it doesnt seem to mind its back, its just its stomach it does not like.
Can anyone advise how long i should comb it for or how i should approach combing his stomach.
He is normally quite placid until he is combed.
Old August 18th, 2016, 12:01 PM
The Pack's Head Servant
Chopper Challenge Champion, Mini KickUps Champion, Bugz Champion, Snakeman Steve Champion, Shape Game Champion, Mumu Champion, Mouse Race Champion

As a first time cat owner who lucked into a cat that loves to be brushed, I'm afraid I have little experience with your issue, but I wonder if a grooming mitt might be helpful? At the very least, if your cat gets reactive, your hand is a bit more protected?

Btw, would love to see a picture of your persian if you have one to share. And welcome to the board!

"It's not what you gather, but what you scatter that tells what kind of life you have lived!"

"Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle."
Old August 18th, 2016, 03:39 PM
Senior Contributor

this show how to comb a Persian cat

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNsujtI5V8g
Old August 18th, 2016, 03:39 PM

Thanks

Thank you for your advice, I have bought something called the furminator which is a type of comb. It is good for his thick back, but not for his stomach.Name:  image.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  216.7 KB
Old August 18th, 2016, 03:48 PM

Persian

His name is Felix, he is a lovely cat, but where I live he would get stolen, so I take him out for walks on his lead which he loves unless he sees a dog, then he sees me as a sort of makeshift ladder and climbs up me.
Old August 18th, 2016, 03:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barkingdog View Post
this show how to comb a Persian cat

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNsujtI5V8g