Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog food forum

Old November 12th, 2008, 09:45 AM

food suggestions....please!!!

I have two one+ year old shihtzus. For the first year, I had difficulty finding a food that they would eat. I tried almost every kibble and wt food available. Finally, I decided to try a raw diet....they loved it! I have been feeding them this way for the last two months. My little guy stopped eating last week and did not seem himself, so off to the vet we went. They did bloodwork on him and the vet called to let us know that his liver enzymes are quite high (due to toxins). The vet said to wait for two weeks and then we could do more bloodwork and see what his levels are at. I am now very concerned that the raw diet (premade) is making my dog sick. I am not sure what to do....should I switch them back to a kibble/wet food? My little female has always had trouble digesting her food but has been doing very well on a raw diet. I am back to the drawing board and just don't know what to do....If anyone has any suggestions, I would really appreciate it. I know my vet will suggestion Hills....and I am wondering if I should stop raw all together and just go with Hills.
Thanks for taking the time to read my post.
Old November 12th, 2008, 12:57 PM
Senior Contributor

I'm extremely doubtful that it was the raw causing high liver enzymes, otherwise why wouldn't both dogs be affected? Which premade raw do you feed? Maybe if it makes you feel better, you could switch to a different brand or make your own. Don't go let your vet convince you to go with Hill's, that would be a major step backwards.

Also, the thing with high liver enzymes is that they can occur FROM not eating, so it's a case of which came first. In the meantime, something like Denamarin or Denosyl would be a good supplement to help your little guy's liver recover.