Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time!

Old July 22nd, 2005, 10:25 AM

Unhappy Pet Medications

Hi I'm new at this so bear with me.

I just read from Cyberkitten that Bayril (an anitbiotic) perscribed for dogs is the same as the human form of Cipro.

My Ridgeback has a couple of hot spots and the vet always prescribes Baytril at $100.00 a shot!!! I have a full bottle of Cipro here ....does anyone know if I give him the same amount of mg of my Cipro will I be doing him any harm?

thanks
Casey's mom

his hot spots are not caused from some bizar allergy....we have finally figured out that it only happens in the summer when he goes swimming and doesn't get completely dried off. I am going to try and make sure there is no moisture left even if I have to blow him dry the next time.
Old July 22nd, 2005, 10:36 AM

It would be in your dog's best interests to ask your vet that question. I know of no vet who isn't willing to tell owner's how to save a dollar or two by using something they can get at a fraction of the cost. Bring the medication with you to the vet and ask him. If the vet approves, and tells you how much to use, then I would say it's ok.

But do ask your vet.

According to the Humane Society of the United States:
There are an estimated 3-4 million dogs and cats euthanized each year in the US alone! PLEASE - spay and/or neuter your pets!
Old July 22nd, 2005, 10:51 AM
Sadie's Chefomatic

You may want to read this thread:

http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread....ight=hot+spots
Old July 22nd, 2005, 10:58 AM
Senior Contributor

Be very careful with Cipro. Definitely check with your vet.
Old July 22nd, 2005, 11:38 AM
Senior Contributor

I would defibitely chedck with your vet. Every dog is different and sometimes the weight of the dog is taken into account. And the dosing requirements for the two are actually quite different.