Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog food forum

Old February 24th, 2007, 11:14 PM

Timberwolf Change

I have been browsing your forum for a few months now and really like it. A lot of you seem very involved and knowledgeable. I decided it was time to jump in a join the fun!

I started feeding my dog Timberwolf a few months ago. She really likes it and seems to do well on it. I heard though that they have changed processing plants and am a little worried about a change in formula or what effect the manufacturing change will have on the food. Have any of you Timberwolf feeders received any of the new food?
Old February 24th, 2007, 11:17 PM

They were using the Diamond plants to make their foods, so I'm guessing after the massive recall, TO decided to jump ship.. Not sure what effect it will have on the food or if there are new developments...

Oh and welcome to the board!!
Old February 24th, 2007, 11:41 PM

Welcome! It will be interesting to see if there is a difference. Not sure how many plants can handle that high meat through the extruder!
Old February 25th, 2007, 04:10 AM
Senior Contributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by gypsy_girl View Post
Welcome! It will be interesting to see if there is a difference. Not sure how many plants can handle that high meat through the extruder!

Only 2 of their formulas has a somewhat higher meat content the Nutrient dense Lamb and Rice has a protein level suitable for large breed puppies so not really that high a meat content, the Wild & Natural Dry has the highest meat content but they chose for it as the main igredient chicken which is the cheapest of available meat sources.
, and the black forest has a very low meat content as it is meant as a meat mixer for healthy dogs (meaning you need to add meat to it)

Much of their foods would be much the same meat content as Canidae. and other premium foods