Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Dog health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time! (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Doggie morning sickness? (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=41989)

Mrs.H81 June 27th, 2007 08:21 PM

Doggie morning sickness?

So, I think my little dachshund, Mollie, might be pregnant! She just stopped heat last week, and as hard as I worked at keeping our male dog away from her I think I missed something!
Anyway, yesterday she started acting lazy and not her usual peppy self. and vomiting, she did finally eat yesterday but today not so much, but she will drink water.
I just want to know if dogs do experience morning sickness type symptoms.
:dog:

erykah1310 June 27th, 2007 09:12 PM

Im no expert but I dont think dogs experience morning sickness.
Just out of curiosity, is there any particular reason that you dont think your dog need to see a vet?
They can do the spay next week and put your, im sure already worried, mind at ease. That way no risk of emergency C-section or any other potential pregnancy risks. ( and yes, there are quite a few risks)

mummummum June 27th, 2007 09:50 PM

[QUOTE=Mrs.H81;444884]So, I think my little dachshund, Mollie, might be pregnant! She just stopped heat last week, and as hard as I worked at keeping our male dog away from her I think I missed something!
Anyway, yesterday she started acting lazy and not her usual peppy self. and vomiting, she did finally eat yesterday but today not so much, but she will drink water.
:dog:[/QUOTE]

It is possible that she has two, separate conditions which happen to be occurring at the same time. Progressive lethargy, lack of appetite and decreasing thirst could be symptoms of alot of things; heat stroke, bacterial infection, bloat to name a few.

I think either way seeing a Vet is a good idea.