Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Cat health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time! (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   Looking for some help/insight for our new white bengal kitten who is sick :( (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=85674)

AerisAllieandPJ July 17th, 2014 09:54 AM

Looking for some help/insight for our new white bengal kitten who is sick :(

1 Attachment(s)
Hi friends,
I am new to all this but happy to be here. My boyfriend surprised me six days ago with a white snow bengal kitten, born April 21 of this year. To be honest I never had cats before and even am allergic. But within minutes of having her I fell in love, she's the sweetest, cutest thing I've ever seen. And if when she gets bigger I start to sneeze, I'll take those allergy pills. At least I hope she gets bigger.... here's the sad part. My boyfriend picked this particular kitten because she looked so hungry and so tiny and so sad and he felt he could help her and save her. Day 2 we realized her weight and....here it is...pot belly... were actually a problem, not just from malnutrition. We researched like crazy and assumed it was some kind of worms, though her stool was pretty clear. She did have some fleas, that we took off and cleaned her real good. Another main concern was her lethargy. All she does is sleep, but again, everyone keeps telling us that's cats and even kittens need more sleep than newborn babies. :shrug: I wouldn't know! We took her to a FREE vet appointment that we got from a friend's coupon and the vet drained fluid from her tummy which was...straw colored. I know... :( She then proceeded to tell us she is very suspicious that it's FIP. We cried because we knew the news probably couldn't have been worse. I hyperventilated actually. :(